G20: Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors | Press Conference

Federico Sturzenegger, Governor of the Central Bank, and Nicolás Dujovne, Minister of Economy, held a press conference at the conclusion of the G20 Meeting of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors at the Buenos Aires Exhibition and Convention Center on Tuesday, March 20.

The Group of Twenty (G20) is a leading international forum for economic, financial and political cooperation that seeks to address the most pressing global challenges and develop public policies to solve them. The G20 is made up of the European Union and 19 countries: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. Collectively, G20 members represent 85 % of gross world product, two-thirds of the world's population, and 75 % of international trade.

The G20 started out as a meeting of finance ministers and central bank governors. It was created on September 25, 1999, in a Meeting of G7 Finance Ministers who saw the need for a more inclusive body to have a stronger impact. Since 2008, with the aim of building new consensus at the highest political level, the G20 summits have been attended by heads of state or government and their agendas have expanded. In addition, G20 debates are enriched by the participation of partner international organizations, guest countries and engagement groups that represent different sectors of society.

March 20th, 2018

Compartilo en Facebook   Compartilo en Twitter    Compartilo en Linkedin    Compartilo en WhatsApp